top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle D'Hotman

Waypoint Seven Review

There is a theme park about an hours drive away from where I live. I have always loved going, especially for the thrill rides like the roller coasters. When I was younger I used to get on the rides and enjoy every second of it, but as I got older my anxiety would make me doubt this choice. As we would queue for the ride irrational fears would creep in. What if a bolt comes loose and the ride breaks? Or the safety harness doesn’t lock and I fall out. By the time I’m on the ride and hearing the click click click, as the roller coaster slowly climbs to the peak before the drop, I’m not enjoying the ride. I want to get off. The thrill cannot be worth the discomfort I am currently feeling. Then the last click and off we go and all my anxiety is forgotten and I am loving every second of the ride.



Just like the roller coaster, Waypoint Seven was a slow uncomfortable start for me. I found it unnecessarily wordy at points and the shift from narrative to journal entries was very confusing, and honestly I kinda wanted to get off this roller coaster. But let me tell you I was so happy that I was harnessed in because this roller coaster was worth it, in a big way. 


Xan van Rooyen created a vivid world with rich descriptions that brought the whole story to life. Following Runo and his crew on this adventure was exhilarating. Once I got used to the things that had at first confused me I feel in love with this incredible world Xan created. The religions and social dynamics of the society in the books was detailed and beautiful. Each character had added to the group dynamic in a way that carried the story. 


Unfortunately, just like a roller coaster this book was over before I realised it. I had my arms in the air screaming with glee as I enjoyed the thrill of the twists and turns and then I was on the last page. 


I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Waypoint Seven’ and would recommend it to any sci-fi  fan. The only big down side is it was too short. 

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page